Myth of Low Inflation in India

2 March, 2009 at 17:43 Leave a comment

I went to the market yesterday to buy some meat and vegetables. I was hoping that 100 rupees would be enough for a kilo of chicken/fish and a couple of kilos of veggies + greens. Dont laugh.
First of all, I was influenced by all these graphs and statistics of how inflation has got down and is at some record low etc. Secondly, I dont go to the market much – one of the perks of living with parents and being a celibate ascetic of sorts. In fact, the last time I went was a year or so ago. Even then, I played the role of a driver for mom rather than the spender. It was an act of pure optimism to venture out with a 100 bucks in the first place. But not in my not-so-wild dreams did I expect to be trampled like the poor guy…

Seriously, I was shocked. I could not buy half of what I wanted with a devalued 100/-. Fortunately, the car has a secret stash pocket for emergencies which made me get what was needed for the house. That saving face grace apart, I cannot help but feel the pinch of the prices of goods and services. Indians are actually paying more per-gram of stuff per-quality of goods per-earning than in the first world is my feeling. Oh well, beggars cant be choosers. BTW, who is the finance minister now?

    , , , , , , , ,

    Entry filed under: Citizen-Journalism, CWorks, Deesha, Economy, India, Life-Theories, News-Media, Poverty.

    Secret Life of Bloggers # 07 – Ready… Postpone Dumping Climate Garbage on 3rd World

    Leave a Reply

        Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


    Calendar

    March 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

    Tweets


